The Junior Age

Month: November 2023

The ICC Cricket World Cup

The International Cricket Council (“ICC”) Men’s Cricket World Cup is an international cricket championship which is held every four years. This is one of most prestigious and the most watched sporting events in the world.

Also read about, Team Indian Puts Up A Stellar Show In The 2023 ICC Cricket Men’s World Cup

Some Fun Facts About The Cricket World Cup

The first Men’s ODI Cricket World Cup was inaugurated in 1975. However, in 1973 the first ever Women’s World Cup was played in England. The inaugural edition of the cricket World Cup in 1975 was known as the Prudential Cup.

The first three Cricket World Cups were only held in England. For the first time in 1987, the location of the World Cup was changed to another country. After that year’s World Cup, the World Cup is now held in different locations every time. The 1987 World Cup was jointly hosted by India and Pakistan.

The 1987 edition of the World Cup saw a reduction in the number of overs per innings from 60 to 50.

From the 1992 World Cup onwards, the players wore colourful jerseys as each team was allowed to pick one colour representing their respective countries. Prior to this, all players were required to wear only white The cricket hall was alço made white

The 2023 World Cup is the first ODI World Cup in which the West Indies did not take part, as they failed to qualify.

From 1999, there is one permanent single trophy that is given to the winning team every four years. No team gets a new trophy each time they win. Earlier, a new trophy was made for every new World Cup but now there is only one.

A Complete List Of ICC World Winners 

Watch Full Video On, Christmas Traditions Around Worldwide | Fun Facts About Christmas

Team Indian Puts Up A Stellar Show In The 2023 ICC Cricket Men’s World Cup

Even though the Men in Blue lost the final match on November 19, they have emerged as Champions, nonetheless. Team India remained undefeated for ten matches throughout the tournament until the finals against Australia.

Also read about, Meet The Six Times Cricket World Champions Australia

Indian star batter Virat Kohli has been awarded with the “Player of the Tournament” title in the ICC World Cup 2023 for his outstanding performance.

Indian bowler Mohammed Shami took 24 wickets in the tournament, taking the highest number of wickets in the ICC World Cup 2023.

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 has made history by being the most attended ICC event ever after 1,250,307 fans watched from the stands.

Indian cricket players created some great records in the 2023 ICC Cricket Men’s World Cup:

Virat Kohli Surpassed Sachin Tendulkar to Create A World Record of 50 ODI Centuries.

Virat Kohli’s 765 Runs is The Most Runs by a Batter in a Single World Cup Edition.

Rohit Sharma Hit 31 Sixes, Which is the Most by a Batter in a Single World Cup Edition.

Rohit Sharma’s 7 Centuries has Created the Record for the Most Centuries in the Cricket World Cup.

Mohammed Shami’s 7/57 Against New Zealand in Semi Final is the Joint Best Show by A Bowler in Terms of Wickets Taken in An Innings of the World Cup Match.

Watch full video on, Understanding the Israel-Hamas Conflict | The Ongoing Israel-Palestine Conflict in Gaza

Meet The Six Times Cricket World Champions Australia

Australia won the 13th edition of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup by defeating India by six wickets in the final on November 19 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Also read about, Interesting Facts About Narendra Modi Stadium For Children

With this win, the Aussies clinched their historic sixth ODI World Cup title. The Australian side was led to victory by their captain Pat Cummins. The Australian cricket team is the most successful team in the tournament’s history. With eight appearances in 13 finals, the Australian side has also featured in the most finals in the tournament.

Australia’s Travis Head was declared the Player of the Match of the finals. He scored 137 runs off 120 balls.

Glenn Maxwell Scored The Fastest Century In A Cricket World Cup In 40 Balls.

Glenn Maxwell Is The First Australian To Score A Double Hundred In The ODIs And It Was The First-Time A Double Century Was Scored In A Run Chase.

Travis Head Became The Second Player To Score A Century (137 Runs) In A World Cup Final.

Did You Know?

This year, Australia has also won the World Test Championship final in England defeating India. They also won the Ashes.

In 2003, Australia had won the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup by defeating India!

With this win Australia has won the World Cup title 6 times viz. 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015, and 2023.

It is the only country to have won six World Cup titles until now.

They are also the only team to have won three Cricket World Cups in a row – 1999, 2003, and 2007.

Watch Full Video on, #MSDhoni: Mahendra Singh Dhoni Cricket’s Legend

World’s First Successful Eye Transplant

For the first time ever, a human eyeball has been transplanted successfully. Aaron James received the transplant in New York back in May, during a 21-hour opera-tion. Surgeon Eduardo Rodriguez was joined by a team of more than 140 people to complete the procedure, which has never been tried before. Five months after getting his new eyeball, James is feeling good. He said: “Before the transplant, emotionally, I was a little down. My confidence level was a little low. 

Also read about, Young Climate Activists Sue 32 Countries

But, since the transplant, I tell people I can’t walk past the mirror without looking at it. It has made me stand up taller. It’s great.” James lost his eye when he was injured badly in 2021.

Experts aren’t sure if he ever will be able to see using his new eye, but they are confident this is a big step forward in helping others with similar injuries.

Watch Full video on, Understanding the Israel-Hamas Conflict | The Ongoing Israel-Palestine Conflict in Gaza

Gwalior and Kozhikode Added To UNESCO Creative Cities List

Gwalior and Kozhikode, have been added to the prestigious list of UNESCO Creative Cities Network (“UCCN”). These two Indian cities are among the 55 new cities to join the UCCN. UNESCO praised these new cities for “their strong commitment to harnessing culture and creativity as part of their development strate-gies, as well as displaying innovative practices in human-centered urban planning. 

Also read, Two Indian Sites Added To The UNESCO World Heritage List

While Gwalior, (in Madhya Pradesh) made the list in the ‘Music’ category, Kozhikode, (in Kerala) made the list in the ‘Literature’ category. Few other cities included in the list are Casablanca for Media Arts, Kathmandu for Film, and Rio de Janeiro for Literature. With these new additions, UCCN now lists 350 cities in more than a hundred countries, representing seven creative fields: Crafts and Folk Art, Design, Film, Gastronomy, Lit-erature, Media Arts and Music.

Can you think of any other Indian city that can be a part of UCCN and for which creative field?

Watch Full video on, Christmas Traditions Around Worldwide | Fun Facts About Christmas

Open chat
Hello 👋
Can we help you?