The Junior Age

Category: Sports

Exploring History Of Olympic Trivia

Found Of The Olympic 

The first Olympic Games were held in 776 B.C. at Olympia. in Ancient Greece. The Olympics were created in honour of the ancient Greek god: Zeus, the king of the gods. The ancient Olympics included games like wrestling, boxing, long jump, javelin, discus, and chariot racing.

In 393 AD, the Olympic Games were cancelled and didn’t start up again for over 1,500 years!

Also read, Youngest Challenger To The World Title In Chess

Pierre de Coubertin is considered the founder of the modern Olympic Games. He was a French educator, who helped establish the Olympic Committee in 1896. In 1896, the first modern Olympic Games were held in Athens, Greece. The Games brought together 14 nations and 280 participants, competing in 43 sporting events.

Also Watch full Video on, The Iconic Journey Of The Olympic Torch

Historic Gold In Badminton Asia Team Championship

The Indian women’s team won a historic gold medal at the Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024 after beating Thailand 3-2 in the final in Shah Alam, Malaysia on February 18.

Also Read, Origins Of International Women’s Day : March 8

This was India’s maiden title in the history of the continental competition. The men’s Indian badminton team had previously won two medals in 2016 and 2020, but both were bronze. The winning team comprised PV Sindhu, Gayatri Gopichand, Treesa Jolly, and teenager Anmol Kharb.

Watch full video on, Women Power On Display This Republic Day

The ICC Cricket World Cup

The International Cricket Council (“ICC”) Men’s Cricket World Cup is an international cricket championship which is held every four years. This is one of most prestigious and the most watched sporting events in the world.

Also read about, Team Indian Puts Up A Stellar Show In The 2023 ICC Cricket Men’s World Cup

Some Fun Facts About The Cricket World Cup

The first Men’s ODI Cricket World Cup was inaugurated in 1975. However, in 1973 the first ever Women’s World Cup was played in England. The inaugural edition of the cricket World Cup in 1975 was known as the Prudential Cup.

The first three Cricket World Cups were only held in England. For the first time in 1987, the location of the World Cup was changed to another country. After that year’s World Cup, the World Cup is now held in different locations every time. The 1987 World Cup was jointly hosted by India and Pakistan.

The 1987 edition of the World Cup saw a reduction in the number of overs per innings from 60 to 50.

From the 1992 World Cup onwards, the players wore colourful jerseys as each team was allowed to pick one colour representing their respective countries. Prior to this, all players were required to wear only white The cricket hall was alço made white

The 2023 World Cup is the first ODI World Cup in which the West Indies did not take part, as they failed to qualify.

From 1999, there is one permanent single trophy that is given to the winning team every four years. No team gets a new trophy each time they win. Earlier, a new trophy was made for every new World Cup but now there is only one.

A Complete List Of ICC World Winners 

Watch Full Video On, Christmas Traditions Around Worldwide | Fun Facts About Christmas

Team Indian Puts Up A Stellar Show In The 2023 ICC Cricket Men’s World Cup

Even though the Men in Blue lost the final match on November 19, they have emerged as Champions, nonetheless. Team India remained undefeated for ten matches throughout the tournament until the finals against Australia.

Also read about, Meet The Six Times Cricket World Champions Australia

Indian star batter Virat Kohli has been awarded with the “Player of the Tournament” title in the ICC World Cup 2023 for his outstanding performance.

Indian bowler Mohammed Shami took 24 wickets in the tournament, taking the highest number of wickets in the ICC World Cup 2023.

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 has made history by being the most attended ICC event ever after 1,250,307 fans watched from the stands.

Indian cricket players created some great records in the 2023 ICC Cricket Men’s World Cup:

Virat Kohli Surpassed Sachin Tendulkar to Create A World Record of 50 ODI Centuries.

Virat Kohli’s 765 Runs is The Most Runs by a Batter in a Single World Cup Edition.

Rohit Sharma Hit 31 Sixes, Which is the Most by a Batter in a Single World Cup Edition.

Rohit Sharma’s 7 Centuries has Created the Record for the Most Centuries in the Cricket World Cup.

Mohammed Shami’s 7/57 Against New Zealand in Semi Final is the Joint Best Show by A Bowler in Terms of Wickets Taken in An Innings of the World Cup Match.

Watch full video on, Understanding the Israel-Hamas Conflict | The Ongoing Israel-Palestine Conflict in Gaza

Meet The Six Times Cricket World Champions Australia

Australia won the 13th edition of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup by defeating India by six wickets in the final on November 19 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Also read about, Interesting Facts About Narendra Modi Stadium For Children

With this win, the Aussies clinched their historic sixth ODI World Cup title. The Australian side was led to victory by their captain Pat Cummins. The Australian cricket team is the most successful team in the tournament’s history. With eight appearances in 13 finals, the Australian side has also featured in the most finals in the tournament.

Australia’s Travis Head was declared the Player of the Match of the finals. He scored 137 runs off 120 balls.

Glenn Maxwell Scored The Fastest Century In A Cricket World Cup In 40 Balls.

Glenn Maxwell Is The First Australian To Score A Double Hundred In The ODIs And It Was The First-Time A Double Century Was Scored In A Run Chase.

Travis Head Became The Second Player To Score A Century (137 Runs) In A World Cup Final.

Did You Know?

This year, Australia has also won the World Test Championship final in England defeating India. They also won the Ashes.

In 2003, Australia had won the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup by defeating India!

With this win Australia has won the World Cup title 6 times viz. 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015, and 2023.

It is the only country to have won six World Cup titles until now.

They are also the only team to have won three Cricket World Cups in a row – 1999, 2003, and 2007.

Watch Full Video on, #MSDhoni: Mahendra Singh Dhoni Cricket’s Legend

Open chat
Hello 👋
Can we help you?