Bharat Ratna 2024: India’s Highest Civilian Honor Award

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has announced that former prime ministers P.V. Narasimha Rao and Chaudhary Charan Singh, and scientist Dr. M.S. Swaminathan will be conferred with the Bharat Ratna. Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in India. PV. Narasimha Rao was the Indian prime minister from 1991 to 1996 and is known to be the man who started the economic liberalisation of India. Chaudhary Charan Singh, a well known champion of workers and farmers’ rights, briefly served as the Indian prime minister in 1979. Dr. M.S. Swaminathan, a renowned scientist, is known as the architect of India’s green revolution. 

Usually, three Bharat Ratna awards are given in a year. However, this year, the government has named five people for Bharat Ratna, including veteran leader LK. Advani and former Bihar chief minister Karpoori Thakur. This is the highest number of Bharat Ratna awards given in a single year.

Also Read, India Shines At 66th Annual Grammy Awards

Word Check

Economic liberalisation means the process of easing the rules and regulations with respect to trade policies by the government of a country. This is done in many ways like by removing trade restrictions and permitting more foreign investment in certain sectors, based on specific conditions.

The Green Revolution introduced new methods and technology for growing, harvesting, and processing crops in India in the 1960s. This led to an increase in agricultural production in India and greatly reduced food shortages.

Watch Full Video On, Interesting Facts About The Drafting of the Constitution of India | History of Indian Constitution

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *