Interesting Facts about The New Parliament Building of India

new parliament building

On May 28, Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated the new Parliament building, which will house the Parliament of India.  It is a part of the Central Vista Redevelopment Project which was undertaken to revamp the Central Vista, the central administrative area of the Indian Government located near the Raisina Hills, New Delhi.

Check Out These Amazing Facts About The New Building of the Parliament of India.

1. The New Parliament Building Building is Bigger:

The new Parliament building is much bigger than the old one. The new Parliament building can seat 888 members in the Lok Sabha (based on a peacock theme) and 384 (based on a lotus theme) members in the Rajya Sabha. While the old Parliament could only accommodate 543 members in the Lok Sabha and 250 in the Rajya Sabha.

For joint sitting of both the houses, 1,280 MPs can be seated in the new Lok Sabha chamber.

Did you know that the old parliament house was inaugurated in January 1927 by Edwin Lutyens and Herbert Baker?

2. Triangular Shape of the New Parliament Building:

The new Parliament House has a distinctive triangular design that ensures effective space utilisation within the complex.The new building is four storied and has a built up area of 64,500 square meter.

3. A New Constitutional Hall:

There is a huge Constitutional Hall located in the centre of the new complex, to showcase India’s democratic heritage. 

Also read, History of the Constitution of India

4. The new Parliament building was designed by the Gujarat-based architect, Bimal Patel.

5. Sengol in the new Parliament:

The Sengol is of great historical importance. It is from Tamil Nadu and was received by India’s first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru symbolising the transfer of power from the British. The Sengol has been installed in the new Parliament building. It has been kept in the Lok Sabha near the chair of the Speaker. 

Did you know that until now, the sceptre was housed at a museum in Uttar Pradesh’s Prayagraj?

6.  The interior of the new Parliament building has been designed based on three distinctive themes – the three national symbols of India, the lotus, the peacock and the banyan tree. 

7. The new parliament building was built by Tata Projects Ltd.

8. A special commemorative postage stamp and a Rs. 75 coin was also released to mark the inauguration of the new Parliament building.

9. The new Parliament building was constructed in 2.5 years at an estimated cost of Rs. 670 crores.

10. There is a lounge for MPs, a library, dining areas and also many committee rooms in the new Parliament building. 

The old Parliament will be converted into a museum. 

Also check out, #FIFA : FIFA WORLD CUP 2022

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *